On the evening of 5th April, 2017 after the official launch of Tanzania Energy Platform, the Platform’s Advisory Committee held its first meeting. Members of the Committee agreed to rotate the Chairmanship of the Committee among Heads of the three Tanzania’s founding institutions, namely the University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM), Dar es Salaam Institute of Technology(DIT) and Karumes Institute of Science and Technology (KIST), starting with the former. Therefore, the Vice Chancellor of UDSM Prof. Rwekaza Mkandala is the current Chairperson for the period 2017/2018.

Other TEP Advisory Committee members are:

Commissioner of Energy – Ministry of Energy and Minerals

Prof. Preksedis M. Ndomba – Principal DIT

The Director of Karume Institute of Science and Technology


Dr. Reginald Mengi – Chairperson of Tanzania Private Sector Foundation (TPSF)

Director General of Tanzania Geothermal Company (TGDC)

CEO – BG Tanzania

CEO – Statoil – Tanzania

CEO – Songas